Conservative Stephen Metcalfe has continued his hold over South Basildon and East Thurrock after winning with 29,973 votes.

Mr Metcalfe has held the seat since it was created in 2010 and he increased his majority for the fourth time, going from 11,490 in 2017.

Labour candidate Jack Ferguson came in behind Mr Metcalfe with 10,051 followed by Liberal Democrat Michael Bukola with 1,957 and Independent Kerry Smith with 3,316.

Mr Metcalfe told the Echo: “I am delighted, humbled and a little surprised with the result.

“I thought I could increase my majority but didn’t expect it go up that much.

“People want to get Brexit done and we will be acting on this immediately with a next reading of the passage of leaving next week.

“We can got it sorted and leave by January and it will happen.

“This vote is a big get it done message from the public as the people have had enough.

“I want to make sure we get enough funding from the Government for our schools to ensure our students get the skills they need to benefit from all the opportunities available to them.

“I also want to ensure we get more money for our hospital and make sure our health services are fit for purpose.

“We’ve already seen an increase in the number of police in Essex and we will be seeing more of that.”

In a speech on stage after the declaration, he thanked his constituents for voting and backing him again.

Turnout was 58.47 per cent and the total number of votes 45,297.

The constituency, which covers areas including Pitsea, Langdon Hills, Stanford-le-Hope and Corringham, has been held by Mr Metcalfe for nine years and his share of the votes has increased in both the 2015 and 2017 elections.

His biggest boost came in the 2017 election when UKIP suffered a dramatic fall and the Conservative vote share increased from 43 per cent to 56 per cent.

The seat was created for the 2010 general election following a review of the Parliamentary representation of Essex by the Boundary Commission for England. It was formed from the majority of the abolished constituency of Basildon, but excluding the centre of Basildon itself, together with the town of Pitsea from the abolished Billericay constituency.